Is Technology Harming Critical Thinking?

Is Technology Harming Critical Thinking? -

As technology has played a bigger role in our lives, our skills in critical thinking and analysis have declined, while our visual skills have improved, according to research by Patricia Greenfield, UCLA distinguished professor of psychology and director of the Children’s Digital Media Center, Los Angeles.

My thinking is that it would be the opposite for obvious reasons. With more technology, people have more access to information than they used to, and I’d expect that that would translate into stronger critical thinking skills for many. I definitely found that the internet made me more of a critical thinker, but I guess that might just be me. Still, I’m skeptical of this study.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

