The less obvious dangers of astrology

astrology - the foolA Sri Lanka astrologer was arrested for publicly predicting the death of the President Mahinda Rajapaksa. And okay, I know I should be devoting this blog to condemning this kind of censorship but that goes without saying and I do find this particular story kind of amusing.

Yes, it’s wrong for a government to arrest a citizen for saying something they don’t like. I don’t know exactly what the astrologer said, so it is possible that it was reasonably viewed as a threat on the life of the president…though I doubt it.

Police spokesman Ranjith Gunasekera confirmed Friday that Chandrasiri Bandara has been arrested so police could investigate the source of his prediction.

Yes, I would like to know the source of this prediction too. I suspect it originated from the suspect, Chandrasiri Bandara’s ass.

4 Responses to The less obvious dangers of astrology

  1. Dharmapala Senaratne says:

    I refer to the last sentence saying ‘I suspect it originated from the suspect, Chandrasiri Bandara’s ass’.

    I totally agree. Chandrasiri Bandara is a crook who exploit people’s gullibility while the policeman must be A 1 fool.

    Both of them must be kicked in the ass!

  2. senaratne says:

    Please notify me of follow-up comments via email. Thanks.

  3. Senator says:

    It is so common that those who blindly believe in astrology, not only fall victim to crooks but even endanger their lives. I know of many cases where they went to the astrologer instead of the doctor and died.

  4. This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I’ve found something which helped me.

    Kudos!

Leave a Reply

