Age of Autism vs. Francis Collins & Jon Stewart

I haven’t really been following this story and don’t fully understand the nature of the disagreement (nor do I really care as this seems like a trivial disagreement), but as much as I dislike Collins’ using the name of science to promote of his wacky religious views, if he’s pissed off Age of Autism, that’s probably a sign that he’s doing something right. So kudos to Francis Collins for not pleasing these nutters. . .

. . . .who are also now pissed at Jon Stewart. What’s particularly silly about this article is how its author, Adriana Gamondes, doesn’t even try to hide the fact that her whole basis for invoking the Big Pharma Shill Gambit (the anti-vaccinationists’ favorite) is purely based on the fact that Jon Stewart said something that disagreed with her beliefs. According to Gomondes, she held Stewart up as “a sort of icon of independent media in a sea of embedded shills”. . .until he disagreed with her. Now that’s proof enough in her mind that he’s part of the evil conspiracy. . .or a sheep who just believes what he’s told. It’s the classic false dichotomy that every grand conspiracy theorist must believe in order to rationalize why nobody else seems to agree with them. Of course the article is full of emotional appeals about her poor life as a parent to an autistic child. And then given that Stewart works for Viacom, it wasn’t hard to develop an elaborate conspiracy using the classic Guilt By Association Gambit that all grand conspiracy theorists must do in order to dismiss all research and researched testamony that disagrees with them:

I’ve had to think it through. On the one hand, if I myself were a clever pundit making umpty millions on cable and my parent network, which happened to have pharm-friendly ties, was hinting that I should make nice about flu shots in the midst of a marketing frenzy (and my extraordinary survival barometer was telling me that if I made the wrong noises in this instance, even if I didn’t jump on a couch or subscribe to an alternative church and was careful to never repeat my “mochachino” quip in earshot of a women’s basketball team*,  something else I did or said could easily be turned into an excuse to make things far worse for me than all the other times I’d “bucked the pressure” combined),  I might take a vague dislike of having people spray snot in my face and whip it into a full blown case of hypochondria in my own mind if it made me feel better about “assuming the position”. On the other hand, I might be Monk.

Apparently, Ms. Gamondes is a shill for Big Sentence. If anyone can make heads or tales out of that run-on, incomprehensible word salad, let me know. Cause it looks like that one sentence is proof that this woman is certifiably insane. Actually, I didn’t mean “word salad.” I just can’t think of the proper psychological term for that kind of long string of disconnected ideas. Some sites call it “loose associations” but I know there was a better term for it. Oh well.

She then goes on to say:

I like to think the best of people, so I’m going to give you the benefit of the doubt that you’re crazy.

Ditto Adriana, you batshit insane psychopath.

3 Responses to Age of Autism vs. Francis Collins & Jon Stewart

  1. […] than this particular instance on ad hominem attack and dishonest reporting here, here, here, here (also from Adriana Gamondes who’s responsible for the latest offending article), here, here […]

  2. […] Age of Autism vs. Francis Collins & Jon Stewart […]

  3. […] that they’re making money is absolute proof of corruption and conspiracy (see: here, here, here, here, here to name a few […]

Leave a Reply

