Religious morons of the week 1.3.09

1. Rick Warren is a parasite – Despite having one of the best-selling books in history, the times have been tough for Warren and he’s down a cool million dollars. So what did he do? Begged his less privileged followers for money. In a single weekend, he raised $2.4 million in donations, which he’s touting as a miracle after having simply attributed his financial shortfall to a poor economy. And sadly, I don’t know if he’s even deliberately taking advantage of people. This is how these douchebags think. They ascribe all their opinions to an unknowable god, build up huge flocks of credulous people willing to believe, and then see any exploitation of those people as god’s will. Maybe Warren’s next book should be titled The Profit-Driven Life.

My gift to you, Anne

2. Is it wrong for me to wish an agonizing death by cancer for Anne McNerney? – This woman has written a New Age book called The Gift Of Cancer: A Call To Awakening, where this cancer survivor describes the horrible disease thusly:

“cancer is your ticket to your real life. Cancer is your passport to the life you were truly meant to live.”

. . .

“Cancer will lead you to God. Let me say that again. Cancer is your connection to the Divine.”

Go fuck yourself and fuck this insane “positive-thinking” bullshit!

3. Brit Hume tells Tiger Woods to find Jesus

The extent to which he can recover seems to me depends on his faith. He is said to be a Buddhist. I don’t think that faith offers the kind of forgiveness and redemption that is offered by the Christian faith. So, my message to Tiger is, ‘Tiger, turn to the Christian faith and you can make a total recovery and be a great example to the world.’

Wow, this guy needs medication.

2 Responses to Religious morons of the week 1.3.09

  1. Michelle says:

    re: Is it wrong for me to wish an agonizing death by cancer for Anne McNerney?

    Yes. Yes, it is.

    Cancer is not a gift and excuse my French in advance but cancer fucking sucks.

    I agree with you about this whole “cancer is a gift” idea is a bunch of BS and the last time this came up in conversation it took great restraint on my part to not tell this person I was conversing with that they were a moron.

    However, I do get that the focus on what is important and appreciation for life that cancer sometimes brings is interpreted by different people in different ways. For some, it is spoken of as a gift. Others have said, “If cancer is a gift, can I return it?”.

    Not having cancer is a gift and I wish happiness and long life to everyone.

    Everything does not happen for a reason. Sometimes life just arbitrarily sucks. This is cancer.

    The giddiness of being alive and healthy eventually wears off (if one is lucky enough to be cured) and one goes back to regular life. Mortgage payments. Idiot bosses. Traffic.

    I don’t know – I think the only way this “cancer is a gift” BS makes sense is if you believe in God.

    I don’t hate these people; I just wonder how they can be so stupid.

  2. han says:

    I’ve been meaning to pick up Barbara Ehrenreich’s new book (Bright-Sided) about this subject. Her own experience with breast cancer prompted her to write a book against positive thinking and how it implicitly blames the victim. As she said on the Daily Show, “I never think delusion is OK.”

Leave a Reply

