Australian Skeptics debunk Applied Kinesiology

Richard Saunders, Dr. Rachie Dunlop, and the rest of the Skeptic Zone gang (who featured a short interview with me in episode 51) have made a great video debunking the scam that is Applied Kinesiology that everyone should see:

6 Responses to Australian Skeptics debunk Applied Kinesiology

  1. Melissa says:

    I am very sad to think that ignorant uneducated individuals as yourselves could make a mockery of Applied Kinesiology. Is this some idea of a joke? You should both be VERY ashamed of yourselves.

    • mjr256 says:

      On the contrary, I take the crime of fraud very seriously.

    • Zundfolge says:

      Lets see …

      Appeal to emotion … ad hominem … ad hominem … ad hominem … ad hominem.

      Yep, that’s a compelling argument you’ve got there.

      • mjr256 says:

        I see you know the names of various logical fallacies, but I fail to see where they’ve been used here. Please cite where you think I’ve used an appeal to emotion and even one ad hominem, let alone several. If you’re right and I have indeed used them, I want to know where I’ve gone wrong.

  2. Max says:

    What amazes me is why anyone would actually BELIEVE in such new age hocus pocus. I’m not sure I would accuse them ALL of fraud by selling their ‘courses’, but are their lives so devoid of wonder that they need to look to the tooth fairy for comfort?

    • Seanyboy says:

      Hey Max, I doubt you’ll see this b/c your comment was over two years ago. I can partly explain the phenomenon of alternative health gullibility. One, many don’t understand the scientific method and miss what to me seemed like red flags when I witnessed Applied Kinesiology. I’m just now looking into debunkings of it so i want talk about applied kinesiology much in particular. My uncle has lime disease. Western doctors (what we might call real doctors or ones using scientifically proven methods) tried to help him for many years but eventually they all said they couldn’t help him. Him and his wife needed to believe there was still hope. Again, they and my mom missed the red flags I picked up on. I told my mom but I didn’t have the heart to tell them. I’m not entirely convinced that nobody benefits from false hope. 2 years later I’m just now looking into it to see if my intuitions were on mark.

Leave a Reply

