Shit! Piss! Fuck! Cunt! cocksucker! Motherfucker! Tits!

Now we can’t even use $#*!. William Shatner, the god of all awesomeness, is starring in a new show this fall based on a series of popular tweets called “Shit My Dad Says.” Of course, to appease advertisers and the Religious Right, the TV show version is being officially called $#*! My Dad Says. Now as silly as I find this whole characters instead of letters game given that everyone knows what the symbols mean, what I find even sillier is that now even the character replacement is being deemed unacceptable by The Parents Television Council, who insist the show’s title is indecent and are insisting the show change it’s name.

A popular alternative spelling used by journalists is (Bleep) My Dad Says, at least until next season when some loony conservative figures out what the “bleem” stands for and deems that too to be indecent, at which time they’ll insist the show change it’s name to (Expletive Deleted) My Dad Says. And the season after that, when someone looks up what the word “expletive” means, they’ll want to change the name of the show again.

“Parents really do care about profanity when their kids are watching TV,” said PTC President Tim Winter. “All parents? No, but something like 80 or 90 percent of parents. Putting an expletive in the title of a show is crossing new territory, and we can’t allow that to happen on our watch.”

Winter’s letter to companies asks bluntly: “When you advertise on television, do you want your customers to associate your product with (bleep)?”

His letter uses the expletive, not the word “bleep.” Winter uses the real word 10 times in two pages.

So what does William $#@!ner say about the controversy?

“Do you know what I wish?” he said. “I wish they would call it (bleep).

“I’ve got grandchildren. I brought up three girls. They’ve all got kids. OK? And you say, ‘Boopy-doo-doo, you’ve got to make poo-poo. Come on. Make poo-poo in the toilet.’ Eventually, poo-poo becomes (bleep). ‘Go take a (bleep), you’ll feel better.’ You say that to your kids. The word (bleep) is around us. It isn’t a terrible term. It’s a natural function. Why are we pussyfooting?”

Shatner didn’t say “bleep,” by the way.

I have my own message for the Parents Television Council:

Go 我操 yourselves!

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to Shit! Piss! Fuck! Cunt! cocksucker! Motherfucker! Tits!

  1. MichaelKnows says:

    Well, I myself learned cursing from a very important person in my life…. My Mother! And I’ve therefore always had a pretty colorful vocabulary. I love cursing, in appropriate circumstances, and even in some not so appropriate places, and like the great, sadly passed, George Carlin, I believe there’s absolutely nothing wrong with using expletives when they’re called for. Words are just words. I love cursing at people like those at the ‘Parents Television Council’ and other Christians, and their organizations, especially all the phony TV Evangelists and their Ilk who spout their Geebus crap on TV. I love getting on the phone and Haranguing those phony Geebus Freaks with curses, because I know that hearing Curses fries their brains! So, Hey PTL, shove your heads back up your asses and STFU! You’re not really a part of society, and we don’t want to hear from you….. Thank you Chris….. I love your blog. It allows me to vent.

Leave a Reply

