Letter to the Editor 12.31.11

christmas 2007

Image by paparutzi via Flickr

The year 2011 is now over, and I ended the year on a good note, with a letter to the editor in my local paper. The link won’t last long but I’ll reproduce my piece here:

Regarding “Why can’t we say ‘Christmas’?” (Your Views, Dec. 25):

I suspect the two letter writers are themselves to blame for their own bitterness this holiday season with their insistence on the use of the word Christmas instead of more inclusive language.

I thought the season was about fellowship, family, goodwill toward others and appreciating what one has. Nope. Apparently, it’s just about a particular brand of spoiled, privileged Christians making sure everyone in our multicultural society is constantly reminded that despite the well-known origins of Christmas and its traditions, Christians own the season.

Apparently, what most concerns these people is that anyone would have the audacity to respect others in precisely the same manner as both letter writers demand for themselves. Though I myself follow the time-honored Jewish tradition of atheism, I never take offense to being in good faith wished a “Merry Christmas!” Would the letter writers be as gracious if sincerely wished a “Happy Kwanzaa”?

But what I do take great umbrage at is this sense of entitlement and presumption that Christianity alone holds the deed to the winter season. I consider that both a grave insult to this nation’s founding principles and a grotesque mockery of true spirit of the season.

And on that note, hope everyone had a happy holidays. See you all in 2012!

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 Responses to Letter to the Editor 12.31.11

  1. Ren says:

    Sense of entitlement that Christianity alone holds? Alone? Holds? Christianity alone? Holds? Really?

    Look, Skep, that sense of entitlement is pretty much universal. It doesn’t make it right, and I agree with you that Christians need to grow some thick skin, but to say that Christianity alone holds that sense of entitlement. Come on, man!

    I’ve met some Pagans who were appalled that I decided to hold a party on solstice. (I didn’t even know it was solstice!) And don’t get me started on the MoMos. They really are from Mars.

    • mjr256 says:

      I completely agree with you. You misunderstood what I meant, which is perhaps mostly my fault for structuring the sentence in a way that could be interpreted in the way you describe. I didn’t mean that only Christians hold such an entitlement. My intended meaning was simply to say these are individuals who believe Christianity is entitled in a way that no other religion is. I hope that clarifies things.

Leave a Reply

